Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Hull City U23s 3-0 Crewe Alexandra U23s: Match Report

30 March 2021

Goals from Sean McLoughlin, Daniel Crowley and Josh Hinds gave Hull City Under-23s a 3-0 victory against Crewe Alexandra at the LNER Community Stadium.

First team coach Tony Pennock took charge of the team and named a very strong starting XI, which included five first-team players. James Scott, Josh Emmanuel, Jordan Flores, McLoughlin and Crowley all featured, with only Harry Wood and Jake Leake retaining their starting positions from the Under-23s' 2-0 defeat against Nottingham Forest last time out.

The Tigers created the first opportunities of the game as Emmanuel picked out the run of Crowley, but the midfielder’s effort went wide past the post. Crowley then curled another shot over the bar, before Scott acrobatically fired wide from close range.

At the other end, Harvey Cartwright produced a decent save to deny Tyreece Onyeka, before Antony Evans saw his free-kick attempt blocked.

The Tigers then scored the opener with three minutes left to play of the first half. McLoughlin drove forward before firing an unstoppable shot past the despairing dive of Sam Booth.

Three minutes later and the Tigers doubled their lead as Crowley converted from close-range, after his initial shot was blocked on the line by Lewis Billington.

In the second half, the Tigers continued to push for more goals as Scott fired over from a tight angle before Booth produced a good save to push Callum Jones’ effort onto the woodwork. Scott then saw another attempt deflect over the bar before Andy Smith blocked well to deny Stephen Walker.

The Tigers then managed to score their third two minutes before stoppage time. Substitute Will Jarvis drove down the left wing and into the Crewe penalty area before squaring the ball back for Hinds who converted from close range.


Hull City: Harvey Cartwright (GK), James Scott (Josh Hinds 80’), Josh Emmanuel, Jordan Flores (Will Jarvis 62’), Sean McLoughlin, Daniel Crowley (McCauley Snelgrove 80’), Callum Jones (C), Andy Smith, Harry Wood, Ahmed Salam, Jake Leake.

Subs Not Used: David Robson (GK), Matty Jacob.


Crewe Alexandra: Sam Booth (GK), Travis Johnson, Rio Adebisi, Joe Robbins (Joel Tabiner 62’), Lewis Billington, Luke Offord, Stephen Walker, Antony Evans (C), Tyreece Onyeka, Charlie Finney (Connor O’Riordan 46’), Carlos Thomas Gomez Montefrovi (Sean Lawton 75’).

Subs Not Used: Tom Booth (GK).

Advertisement block