Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

2022/23 Championship line-up confirmed

29 May 2022

The Championship line-up for the 2022/23 season is now complete.

Huddersfield Town’s play-off final defeat to Nottingham Forest means they will be in the second tier again next season, along with beaten play-off semi-finalists Luton Town and Sheffield United.

Coming down from the Premier League are Burnley, Watford and Norwich City, with Fulham, AFC Bournemouth and Forest moving in the opposite direction.

Wigan Athletic, Rotherham United and Sunderland step up from League One, replacing the relegated trio of Peterborough United, Derby County and Barnsley.


Full line-up:

  • Birmingham City
  • Blackburn Rovers
  • Blackpool
  • Bristol City
  • Burnley
  • Cardiff City
  • Coventry City
  • Huddersfield Town
  • Hull City
  • Luton Town
  • Middlesbrough
  • Millwall
  • Norwich City
  • Preston North End
  • Queens Park Rangers
  • Reading
  • Rotherham United
  • Sheffield United
  • Stoke City
  • Sunderland
  • Swansea City
  • Watford
  • West Bromwich Albion
  • Wigan Athletic


The fixtures for next season will be released at 9am on Thursday 23rd June.


Key Dates 2022/23:

Season start – Saturday 30th July

Carabao Cup round one – Wednesday 10th August

Championship pause – Saturday 12th November

Championship resumption – Saturday 10th December

Final day – Saturday 6th May

Championship play-off final – Monday 29th May

Advertisement block