Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Four Players Named In PFA League One Team Of The Year

3 June 2021

Four members of Hull City’s title-winning squad have been named in the PFA League One Team of the Year.

Right-back Lewie Coyle, left-back Callum Elder, midfielder George Honeyman and forward Mallik Wilks have all been voted by their peers into the best XI of the 2020/21 season.

The performances of Josh Emmanuel meant Coyle had to bide his time before breaking into the side but once he did, the Hull-born defender never looked back.

He featured 28 times in the league and wore the captain’s armband in the absence of Richie Smallwood, leading by example to inspire his hometown team to the title.

Elder was the model of consistency, racking up 44 appearances and providing nine assists, a tally only bettered by Honeyman, who contributed 13 in 42 outings, scoring four goals.

Both players were also selected into the League One and EA Sports FIFA Teams of the Season, with Honeyman winning the club’s Player, Supporters’ Player and Players’ Player of the Year awards.

Wilks finished the campaign as the Tigers’ top scorer after notching 22 goals in all competitions – 19 in the league, including the promotion-clinching penalty in a 2-1 victory at Lincoln.

With four players selected, the Tigers have more representatives in the PFA League One team than any other side.

Completing the XI are Blackpool’s Chris Maxwell, Lincoln’s Lewis Montsma and Jorge Grant, Oxford’s Robert Atkinson, Peterborough’s Jonson Clarke-Harris, and Sunderland’s Aiden McGeady and Charlie Wyke.

Advertisement block